Can You Get Compensation from Driver with No License?
In Kentucky, all drivers have to have a license to drive their vehicles on public streets, and they are required to have insurance. In Kentucky, there are over 3 million licensed drivers, and an estimated 100,000 drivers who operate a vehicle without a license.
This statistic is important because a National Highway Transportation Safety Administration study says that around 20 percent of all accidents and 19 percent of all accident fatalities are caused by unlicensed drivers.
Unlicensed Driver Charged With Murder in Tragic Accident
A driver without a valid license crashed his vehicle into a van filled with people killing the driver and injuring three others in the van, police charged the driver with Murder, DUI and driving without a license. Witnesses at the scene say the vehicle hit the van at a high rate of speed and both cars erupted in flames.
The driver that was charged was able to get out of his vehicle with two others, and all were taken to local hospitals. Local residents pulled the occupants out of the van, and all are in serious to critical condition.
Driving without a License and Insurance
As soon as someone’s license expires or is revoked, it creates problems for the driver. First, the driver could get a misdemeanor charge that could carry a $250 fine and five days in jail for the first offense. Second, as soon as the driver’s insurance company finds out that the driver is unlicensed, then the insurance policy will be revoked.
Then if the driver gets in an accident, there may not be insured to cover the damage done by the crash. This is because most auto insurance policies required a license to get the policy, and state that if the license is not maintained, or the driver has their license revoked, then the insurance company will not pay for the damages.
What Can be Done?
If this happens to you, what can you do? First, don’t take the insurance company’s word that there is no coverage. A good attorney can find out if the driver has a valid insurance policy and whether it will cover your injuries.
Second, talk to your own insurance agent. If you have uninsured and underinsured motorist’s coverage, this will likely cover your injuries and financial losses. Finally, talk to an attorney who can help you find the compensation that you deserve for your injuries.
Contact a Personal Injury Attorney Today
Accident victims often wonder if they need an attorney, and the answer is almost always yes. The insurance company agents have years of experience and are good at their job which is to pay you as little as possible or nothing at all. You need someone just as experienced to help you level the field. Talk to someone you can trust to be on your side and get you what is yours under the law.
The attorneys at Kaufman & Stigger, PLLC, have that knowledge and a combined 100 years’ experience in helping clients get the results they deserve. To discuss your case, call Kaufman & Stigger, PLLC today, at (800) 937-8443 or click here to contact them online.